We are

Our Governors

The Local Governing Body (LGB) is responsible for the overall management of the school and for determining its strategic aims, objectives and policies in accordance with all the relevant legislation. We work in close connection with the headteacher, who manages the school from day to day and is the governing body’s principal professional adviser on the formulation and implementation of plans and objectives to move the school forward.

Key roles are:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • To provide constructive challenge to the Headteacher regarding educational performance of the school and its pupils.
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its budget is spent in a way that benefits the school.

Other roles include:

  • Working with the Headteacher in the process of appointing staff.
  • Hearing appeals and grievances from parents and staff.
  • Forming policy on the varying areas of the school’s curriculum.
  • Setting, developing and monitoring standards for pupil behaviour.
  • Making sure school buildings are welcoming and safe.
  • Setting and monitoring the school’s aims and policies.

On the 1st November 2015, following transfer to the Diocese of Gloucester Academy Trust (DGAT), the Local Governing Body was formed in accordance with the Scheme of Delegation made between the LGB and DGAT.

The LGB consists of up to:

  • 5 Trust Members, appointed by the Directors of DGAT, serving for 4 years,
  • 1 Staff Member, appointed by the Directors of DGAT, serving for 4 years,
  • 2 Parent Governors, elected by parents, serving for 4 years,
  • The Head Teacher Ex-Officio
  • 4 Co-opted Members appointed by the LGB with DGAT consent, serving an initial term of 1 year.

All governors attend meetings of the Local Governing Body (meeting between 3 and 6 times throughout the academic year) and sit on at least one of the two sub-committees: the Standards and Curriculum Committee and the Finance & Staffing Committee (also meeting between 3 and 6 times throughout the academic year). The Head and Chair of Governors sit on both committees.

Heather Francis-Headteacher. Sits on both committees.
Ian Wills-co-chair.  Trust Member. Sits on the finance and staffing committee.
Hema Naselli-co-chair.  Sits on the standards and curriculum committee and is the nominated governor for safeguarding.
Caroline Vale-Vice Chair. Trust Governor with responsibility for SEND and Pupil Premium, chair of the standards and curriculum committee.
Kimberley Read-Parent governor. Chair of Staffing and Finance committee. Governor with responsibility for Health and Safety.
Bill Mesley-co-opted governor and member of the local community. Sits on the curriculum and standards committee.
Juli Middleton-Staff Governor.  Sits on the curriculum and standards committee.

None of the above Governors have any relevant business or pecuniary interests (as recorded in the register of interest).

Governor Contact Details:
If you wish to contact the Governing Body direct, please email Ian Wills or Hema Naselli (co-chairs) on chair@whiteshill.gloucs.sch.uk