We are curious, unique and together


There are seven areas of learning and development that shape our curriculum in the early years. All of these areas of learning and development are
important and inter-connected. There are three prime areas which are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The three prime areas are:
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These prime areas are enhanced and strengthened through:
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their
confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and
movement. Children are also helped to understand the importance of
physical activity and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Literacy Development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range
of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their

Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measure.

Understanding the World involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe
and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities
and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and

At Whiteshill, in Willow class, we consider the individual needs, interests, and stage of development of each child in our care, and use this information to plan challenging and enjoyable experiences for each child in all of the EYFS areas of learning and development.

Compulsory National Curriculum subjects at primary school are:
Design and Technology
Art and Design
Physical Education (PE)
Ancient and Modern Foreign Languages (at Key Stage 2)

Schools must also provide:
Religious Education (RE)
Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education

Each day at Whiteshill the children are taught English (Reading and Writing) and Maths. The other subjects are taught across the year for different periods of time.

Maths is taught in line with GloMaths coverage which is a Gloucestershire wide initiative which ensures full coverage of all the maths knowledge and skills the children need in order to achieve their potential across key stage 1 and 2. More information can be found at: http://mathsnav.com/ks1.html

PE is taught for 2 hours each week in all Key Stage 1 and 2 classes in line with National Curriculum requirements – more information can be found on our Sports page of the website.

RE teaching follows the Gloucestershire Agreed Syllabus for 1 hour per week in line with statutory guidelines.

PSHCE teaching follows the Gloucestershire Pink curriculum and takes place for approximately 1 hour per week as well as being enhanced by enrichment weeks such as anti-bullying week in February.

Music is taught through specialist music teachers – more information can be found on our music page of the school website.

All other National Curriculum subjects are taught through enquiry based learning across the year. As our curriculum is currently being developed and enhanced to support our school’s vision and values, more information will follow.

At Whiteshill, our children take part in the following statutory national tests:

Year 1 Phonics Screening Check
This check will take place in June during your child’s time in Year 1. Your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child does not pass the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2, following support from the school throughout the year.

Key Stage 1
End of Key Stage 1 tests cover:
English reading

Your child will take the tests in May during Year 2. You will be sent the results of your child’s Teacher Assessments, which are informed by these tests, automatically in their end of year reports and you can ask the school for the test results any time after the end of May if you wish.

Key Stage 2
Your child will take national tests in May when they reach the end of Key Stage 2. These test your child’s skills in:
English Reading
English Grammar, Punctuation and Spelling

The tests last less than 4 hours.

The school will send you the results of your child’s Tests and Teacher Assessments with their end of year reports.